The Drowning

March 13, 2008 — Leave a comment

This morning I had a long drive down to Tahlequah and Sallisaw to look at some houses.  Needless to say there was much time to think and ponder.  During my drive I received two key calls that I’ve been praying about for several months.  One was from Hope Harbor children’s home and the other was from RSU.  My heart longs to serve people who perhaps have been forgotten by many.  I’m so excited at the opportunities to get involved with these orphans and to encourage some college students.

In 1912, the Titanic ship hit an iceberg and sank down to the bottom of the ocean.  This was a ship that had all the expensive furnishings enjoyed by many wealthy people.  It was made for comfort.

A lot of churches today perhaps are like that.  I long to be on the ship where it’s comfortable and where people who I love are.  At the same time my heart longs more for those that are outside in the water drowning.  They are people who I don’t even know.  They exist in my community, across my street, behind my house at a nursing home, at my rec center, and 5 miles off Hwy 66 at a children’s home.  I choose to not only enjoy the comforts of the four walls of a building for all those that are already safe, but choose to dive into the icy unknown waters if it’s just for one as well.

Jesus said in Mark 2:17 “the healthy don’t need a doctor but the sick”

Where do you want to be?  Do you want to spend all your time in comfort and safety with others or helping those that are not yet safe?
No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

