Casey: A Definition of Persistence

March 21, 2008 — 1 Comment

This afternoon I spent a bulk of time catching up on some admin at my favorite coffeehouse in Claremore – Perfect Grounds.  I really like the owner named Kris.  He’s got an incredible heart for the RSU students of Claremore.  Why else wouldn’t we hit it off?  I must admit I’m not much of a coffee drinker, but he can fix a mean caramel macchiato!  Amy on the other hand could keep Starbucks in business like there’s no tomorrow. 

My new friend, Casey Loper, walked in while I was indulging.  He works for Edward Jones.  This dude knows his stuff when it comes to investments.  I’m hoping we can trade his expertise for mine.  He wants me to do the OKC Memorial 1/2 Marathon in late April so I’m going to help train him. 

Casey started two years ago at age 23 with nothing.  He just started knocking on doors.  He strategize it out: he would spend day after day, 15 minutes at a house, for a total of 25 houses a day.  He knocked on over 650 houses in Claremore!  He was told he couldn’t start his business until he had 50 clients.  Do you know how many contacts he has in his network today?  Over 1600!  He’s no stranger to the book, Never Eat Alone, one of my favorites.  I got to give up for Casey’s tenacity and persistence.  I think Calvin Coolidge would say Casey defines a quote he made many years ago:

Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence.  talent will not….genius will not….. education will not…. persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” 

A little persistence helped me end the day with a 40 mile bike ride in the hilly terrain and windy conditions out toward Pryor, OK.

One response to Casey: A Definition of Persistence

  1. 

    Great words. One must have persistence… especially with hopes of a church-plant. How’s that going by the way? Slow & steady wins the race.

    Love the book “Now Develop Your Strengths”! Mine are…

    1. Competition
    2. Individualization
    3. Maximizer
    4. Command
    5. Futuristic

    I don’t know if you heard, but Amanda Ridgway’s brother, Cooper, committed suicide last Friday night. I graduated with him.

    Anyways, take care and have a good weekend!

    blog.gabbathaonline.com

Leave a Reply

