The Torch

April 1, 2008 — Leave a comment

The Beijing Olympic Flame began on Monday to make its way around Greece, where it will be relayed by torchbearers for six days, before traveling to Beijing to begin its “Journey of Harmony.”  In the Torch Lighting Ceremony that began at 11:00 a.m. (GMT +2), in Olympia, Greece, the High Priestess successfully lit the sacred flame in a traditional ritual, using only the rays of the sun and a parabolic mirror. 

It reminds me of a torch that I pass by almost daily in Claremore.  It continues to challenge me to keep my own torch lit.  Yesterday after I left the rec center I had to pull into the Will Roger’s Museum parking lot.  I was consumed with a passion for my community.  Have you ever cried so hard that you felt it from your gut?  My hands became like windshield wipers over my eyes as I began to break over the souls of those that live around me. 

I prayed that God would break my heart for those that need him the most.  He began to flood my mind with people’s faces and names of friends and neighbors that I know need him.  I believe in a God that wants to transform my communityThere’s a stirring going on in the hearts of men and women and there’s no doubt – an awakening is coming to Claremore Oklahoma.  May the torch be lit in my soul and in the soul of other torchbearers.

“Man is so made that whenever anything fires his soul, impossibilities vanish” La Fontaine

Is your torch lit for anything?  What makes you cry?  What are you believing in God to do for you community?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

