Armpit of Claremore

June 4, 2008 — Leave a comment

As I reflect upon this day, I praise God for giving me life and choosing to use me as a mouthpiece for his glory.  This morning I spent a great amount of time looking back over the month of May and all God did in the endeavor he’s called my family too. 

I had the honor of meeting up with a ole friend today for lunch.  Scottie used to be a Youth Pastor along with myself seven years ago here in Claremore.  He is now Pastor of Northpark Trinity Baptist.  He recently stepped out of his full-time position to get out of the christian bubble he was feeling.  He told me he missed being around people in the real world.  Wow I so respected that.  After lunch I was able to knock out 40 laps in the pool with my RSU friend named Wes.  I think Wes is going to be a future triathlete and a future weller.  He is not currently attending any church.

This afternoon I was able to get out before the group ride and spend some God moments on my bike.  Some of my most incredible “holy of holy” moments have been out on a country road riding my bike.  It’s like everything else dimmer away and it’s just me and God.  Afterwards I was able to meet up with the group and knock out more mileage.

After coming up home and putting the boys to bed, I drove over to Dusty’s Pub.  As I walked in – it literally felt like I was walking into a dark forest.  A pit if you will.  It’s what Amy calls the “Armpit of Claremore”.  If that’s the case I must be the deodorant – OK that was a little weak.  I have never heard GD so many times or the F-bomb.  The smoke continues to burn my contact lenses out of my sockets.  So many times I thought, “why am I here?  I have absolutely nothing in common with these people!”.  As I sat on a stool at the bar – I began looking around the room through the eyes of Jesus that is in my heart and has consumed me.  I began to break as I looked into the blood-shot eyes of those wasting their money away. 

 I feel like this is the deepest hole and the most hurting environment in my community.  It’s so easy to go for a bike ride with people who I have things in common with, but going into this place is hard.  It is taking all the guts that I have.  As hard as it is – every time I leave I feel more like Christ.  overtime I leave I wonder if something were to happen to me on the ride home and I went to heaven – without a doubt I would hear God say, “well done Ricky, my faithful servant.”  It’s my destiny and I would give my life for these people.

My life verse is this:

“But how can people call for help if they don’t know who to trust? And how can they know who to trust if they haven’t heard of the One who can be trusted? And how can they hear if nobody tells them? And how is anyone going to tell them, unless someone is sent to do it?” Romans 10:14

Why not me?  Why not you?  What are we waiting for?  We only get one life – one chance to make a difference for the Kingdom of Heaven.  Lets do it…. let’s do it now.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

