An Altar Experience

June 10, 2008 — Leave a comment

All my life Sunday has been devoted to going to church.  These days I look at it as the day that we as the church happen to gather together.  Church isn’t a building, a sign, or a timeframe on a Sunday morning.  We are the church!  I never want to be known in my community as a building, but for who we are as we serve.

Yesterday was probably the hardest time I’ve ever had in driving to church.  The night before we had a block party in which we invited families into our home.  This is the second time we’ve done this and these people are becoming friends.  I’m growing to care deeply for them.  as I left my house I looked at every one of their driveways.  What did i see?  I saw cars.  Lots of them.  In fact in every one of the driveways.  My gut ached and my heart hurt worse.

During worship I struggled because I wanted my friends there with me, and they were not.  I began to sob like a little child.  As I went to the altar I wept over the unchurched in my neighborhood.  A man layed his hands on me and begin to pray and prophesy into my life.  Although I openly believe in this, I’m sensitive to this as well.  This guy read my mail.  I’m not sure who he was, but he prayed that the vision God has given me and my family would come forth with all of God’s anointing.  As he began to pray it cut me in half!  I thank God for experiences like these and it reminds me how deeply committed I am to go after the dechurched and unchurched in my community.

We ended the day gathering together with potential team players in the endeavor to start The Well.  God is orchestrating every step and bringing people into the picture that is going to transform a community with the love of Christ.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

