The Pink Shoe

June 14, 2008 — Leave a comment

Today was an official Van Pay family outing to the Tulsa zoo.  It usually starts with a ride on the carousel, a walk through the exhibits, some playground time, and the grand finale – the train ride.  Camden loves it and we usually save the best for last.

We noticed these three moms get on in front of us with over eight kids in the group!  We could already tell they had their hands full.  About 3/4 into the way around the zoo – one of the little girls lost her pink shoe.  It fell of the train.  When we got off the mom just had the look.  We’ve had the same look several times driving through an intersection and launching his shoes out the window.

It was just one of those opportunities to do a little thing with no strings attached for someone I didn’t know.  I just don’t want to have a heart that desires to serve my community but nowhere else.  I’ll probably never see this lady again.  I just think if i truly want to be a servant – I will be one no matter who I’m with and no matter where I am.  It was a test.  The good ole running legs kicked in and we were able to retreive the pink shoe.  The lady was baffled that someone would do that for her.  Our family got to leave the zoo on a high note and we all felt good about what we got to do for someone else!

This evening we ended our day with pizza, root beer floats, and watched the toy story!  I love my family and I thank god I am married to a beautiful women with a heart for christ and have two healthy little boys to raise!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

