It Is a New Favorite

August 18, 2008 — Leave a comment

After getting up early yesterday hitting a brick workout I headed into Tulsa to grab a wet skin, wetsuit, and a new set of tires for my bike.  Headed over to bicycles of Tulsa for them to give my bike a tune up for the big day that is narrowing down to two weeks for crying out loud!  Ah as I looked at my training schedule for this week I grinned as it continues to taper down.  I just pray that my shoulder pain continues to fade.

It’s been a relaxing weekend of hanging with my family and getting an opportunity to not only spend in God’s word, but read a couple of books.  I got to read, “Church Planting in the Real World” by Rainey and “It” by Craig Groeschel.  A book is only as good as it relates to where you are at that time and these two books were huge right now.  I love the realistic side of Rainey’s book without all the success and great stories.  I like things that are raw and real and doesn’t paint some unrealistic picture.  “It” will definitely be used as a teaching tool for our launch team come next month.  He defines “it” as: it is what God does through a rare combination of these qualities:

  • passion for his presence
  • a deep craving to reach the lost
  • sincere integrity
  • spirit-filled faith
  • down-to-earth humility
  • brokenness

So do you possess a quality?  Do you possess any of them?  All of them?  My prayer is that I would have a passion for his name and the names of those in my community that don’t know him!

This weekend I got several responses to potential team members and our small band is growing one by one.  I can hardly wait for the time to come to ignite together as one and raise chaos in a community that is crying out for a fresh move of God!  My prayer is that he would build his church and that he would do it not me or our team.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

