Hotdogs Served With Love

August 24, 2008 — 1 Comment

This morning I was able to knock out a solid 45 laps in the pool, which I might add was my last long swim before next Sunday!  Man I needed that confidence after having some shoulder issues over the past two months.

It was an absolute highlight for me today to invite some of the Well team and partner with some RSU students to grill and serve over 150 hotdogs for the elderly of Wood Manor.  I had one of 76-year-old friends frank request sauerkraut on his dog and another man asked if I could grill some brats – he hadn’t had one in over two years!  We take for granted the small pleasures in life.  A brat with grilled onions, peppers, ketchup, and mustard is something I couldn’t live without!

Why did we do this?  Are we expecting to throw some well invite cards on a table and get them to come?  Were we out to promote our church?  Nope.  We simply served.  It took 2 hours and a pair of hands and feet.  No strong gifting and not a lot of Sacrifice.  These elderly got to feel loved with no strings attached and will be buzzing about all this next week, along with their staff and employees.  We got to be the church today and I loved it!  I even had a lady want to rub my bald head!

“You can do no great things only small things with great love not how much you do but how much love you put into doing it”  Mother Teresa

One response to Hotdogs Served With Love

  1. 

    love it. how dare you be so biblical and love others so deeply. keep it up WELL!

Leave a Reply

