My Body is not My Own

September 17, 2008 — 2 Comments

S “Well, it may be true that the body is only a temporary thing, but that’s no excuse for stuffing your body with food.  Since the Master honors you with a body, honor him with your body!  Didn’t you realize that your body is a sacred place, the place of the Holy Spirit?  The physical part of you is not some piece of property belonging to the spiritual part of you.  God owns the whole works!  So let people see God in and through your body.”  1 Corinthians 6:13; 20

O Paul is going to town on the Corinthians at this point.  I have truly enjoyed munching and wrestling with this chapter.  One of my friends in Claremore is involved in the city and told me the other night that it would shock me how many people use politics to push their spiritual agenda here.  He told me more than 80% of Christians stand up more for what they’re against then what they are for – makes me sick to my stomach.  It grieved my heart when I heard of different ones going to court and making our city leader’s lives miserable.  Paul flies out with correction in the first part of this chapter upon those that want to bring their matters to court, instead of just working it out amongst each other.

Paul goes onto to talk about abusing our bodies when it comes to overeating and sexual abuse to the body.  He challenges us all to wake up!  This passage is a personal trainer’s go to scripture!  It amazes me that so many skim through this chapter in the Bible and don’t want to confront the sin of gluttony.  I had to confront this area in my life head on about four years ago.

A The later part of this chapter hit me between the eyes this morning.  I haven’t done much of anything since August 31st when it comes to eating healthy and exercise.  I felt like I deserved the rest and the break.  Paul reminded me that my body isn’t my own.  I’m to honor God with everything that he gave me – including not stuffing my body with unhealthy food choices.  Our temple is a reflection of our attitude toward Christ.  My wife has become the new Ironman in the family by consistently getting up at 6am to go do her training runs – I couldn’t be more proud!  I just printed off my training plan for the 1/2 marathon coming up in November, plan on getting back on the scales, and will not be eating anymore fast food for a while.

Lets face it this has been an elephant in the church (literally) for far too long!  It must be confronted.  Too many people are giving up years on their lives, getting diabetes, dealing with high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and spending far too much on health products – when a heavy dose of exercise could cure many a disease.  Alright I’m done.  All fingers pointing right back at me to start with – I’m guilty as anyone.

P Father this morning I pray you would once again give me the discipline of making this a focus in my life and not allowing a past achievement to determine my present activity.  Help me to stay on track and not get lazy, as my body truly does reflect my attitude and is an overall outward expression of how I care about treating the body you gave me.  We both know that when this area of my life isn’t in order, other areas in my life follow suite.  Thank you for allowing this morning’s scripture to slap me in the face and get back with it!

2 responses to My Body is not My Own

  1. 

    Asking questions are in fact pleasant thing if you are not understanding something
    totally, however this piece of writing gives fastidious understanding yet.

  2. 

    Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you are
    an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab yoyr feed to keep updated with
    forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable
    work.

Leave a Reply

