Bed of Roses

November 19, 2008 — Leave a comment

xl2Eight weeks ago I embarked on a journey with 19 others from my community.  It was so cool to be apart of the first ever Claremore Citizen’s Academy.  They took a picture and I think I blinded myself from the camera hitting my shiny head!  I learned so much about the inner workings of our city and gave me such a respect and admiration for our city worker’s that run Claremore and provide a safe place for my family.  I’m proud to live in the fastest growing county in Oklahoma.  Click here to read more.  I must give a toss out to our city’s new websitee which provides Red Alert – good stuff when you need to grab your kids out of bed in the middle night to put them in the bathtub – yes that did happen not so long ago.

As I graduated from this academy it made me rethink that not even two years ago I really didn’t like Claremore at all and didn’t want to live here more than 2 years.  One day while at a doctor’s office I read the statement in a reader’s digest article, “Your home is where your roots are the deepest”.  I struggled ever since college and felt restless everywhere I would live.  I realized that day something that Dale Carnegie once wrote:

“One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us put off living, we’re all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon, instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside of our own window everyday” 

It streamlined my very heart beat.  It woke me up out of a coma I had been in and realized – NOW was the time to live each day like it was my last.  We always want more, we always want the next best thing, we always are trying to get to the next level in our job, have a better home, on and on and on.  For me – I’ve settled in and plan on leaving a mark and making a difference where God has called me.  I’m truly happy and content to say that I’ve found my home and am having the time of my life living in my rose garden.

How about you?  Have you found your bed of roses, or are you still searching for your rose garden?  I don’t believe that it is a destination or position and we will never be happy until we are content with right now.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

