Parakletos

April 27, 2009 — Leave a comment

images4S – “I will give you another advocate, who will never leave you, but you know Him, because he lives with you now.  I will not abandon you as orphans– I will come to you.  I am leaving you with a gift – a peace of mind and heart.  And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give.  So don’t be troubled or afraid.”

O – God in the trinity didn’t want us to be alone so he sent Jesus.  Jesus went on into heaven and so he left us with the holy spirit who is our advocate which in Greek is “parakletos” means “called alongside”.  He is our constant presence.  He doesn’t abandon us and we are never alone – praise his name!  Perhaps there’s no greater gift than peace of mind and heart.  I love it!  The world has nothing just temporary things to make us joyful.  I don’t have to be afraid of anything because he’s with me!  Nothing too great that I can’t handle will be put on my plate today!  He’s with me!  He loves me!

A – I can live today with so much faith and confidence that his presence is with me.  I can confide in others, but…. he gives me the peace & love I need.  My grandma lost her husband of over 50 years around 5 years ago, she’s over 90 years old!  Most spouses die quickly at that age after they lose the love of their lives!  She’s kept going reading the word and praying!  She’s lived on because Papa wasn’t her answer and didn’t quench all her love.  She’s madly in love with Jesus and has ultimate communion with him!  What an example to me!

P – Father, thank you!  Thank you that you care and love me this much.  Thank you that you are here, right now, not distant, but oh so very close.  I know your here as much as the rain drops falling outside my window or the candle burning on my desk.  You are my constant, my advocate.  Thank you Jesus I praise your name today!  I give you this week and trust you completely.  Amen

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

