“He Risked His Life”

June 11, 2009 — Leave a comment

imagesA little over a year and a half ago I was listening to a podcast from Wayne Cordeiro, Pastor of New Hope Christian Fellowship in Oahu Hawaii.  He began to speak about something called fresh bread.  It inspired, challenged, motivated, encouraged, and gave me a new passion for God’s word.  Several of my family members began to apply a simple concept as well called S.O.A.P.  Click here to read more about it.  Since that time my personal journal is filling up and my desire to meet with Jesus early in the mornings has completely transformed my life.

My personality tends to enjoy setting up structure, but then I need room to expand out of that structure to catch a breath.  When it comes to S.O.A.P. I get so excited and can’t wait to apply what I’ve read and hear God’s leading.  I can’t wait to challenge all those that come to The Well at the end of our All In series to begin applying this method to their lives.  Can you imagine if an entire church began reading scripture together and applying it?  What would that look like?  What kind of influence would they have on a community if everyone was being led by the holy spirit and applying one thing everyday?

I challenged one young guy that comes to The Well a few Sunday’s ago and he immediately applied it.  Here’s what he wrote back to me the following day: “It is awesome, the perfect thing for me right now, I used to get down on myself because I couldn’t remember anything I read after I’d read 2 or 3 chapters, now I’m remembering and applying what I’ve read.  I appreciate you more than you know Ricky, thank you so much for sharing that and it will impact lots of people who were/ are where I WAS 🙂 luv ya brother”

Here’s a journal entry a few days ago as an example if you would like to try it out:

6-10.09

S – “Meanwhile, I thought I should send Epaphroditus back to you.  He is a true brother, co-worker, and fellow soldier.  Welcome him with Christian love and with great joy, and give him the honor that people like him deserve.  For he risked his life for the work of Christ, and he was at the point of death while doing for me………”  Philippians 2:25; 30

O – I can’t remember ever hearing anything about this guy.  He is mentioned 1-2 twice in all of scripture, but what little is said of him is absolutely monumental.  He was obviously a God send to Paul and what affirmation was said of him.

A – If there’s anything said of me at the end of my life on a tomb stone may it say, “For he risked his life for the work of Christ”.  If someone says just one sentence and that is all that is mentioned of my life-like this guy, WOW I’ll take it in a heart beat.  May I live me life each day giving it away for the cause of Christ with my heart, actions, and words.

P – Father, I humble myself before you.  Forgive me when I put myself before your mission for my life.  Give me the tenacious attitude to give my ALL for you that my legacy would be left for those that belong to The Well, my wife, my boys, my friends, my family, and those that I come in contact with each and every day.  Amen

So…. what about you?  How did you approach God’s Word?  Do you have a simple method that would allow someone the ability to read it daily and not get frustrated?  If so that’s awesome I’d love to hear about it.  If not, it is my hope that you would my try this and look more into it.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

