Tassels of Remembrance

April 3, 2010 — 1 Comment

This morning I engulfed some chapters in the book of Numbers.  For most of my life I’ve always avoided some of the OT books of the Torah.  I even took survey of the OT in Bible College.  Now I find them so interesting as the entire Bible is like one huge puzzle.  I know people who will only read the NT or the Gospels and that leaves out the rest of the pieces.  So many want to live under the cross and drench themselves in the blood, but forget about the justice and judgement that comes from living away from God.  Anyway, I was reading through chapter 15 and took a pit stop here:

Then the Lord said to Moses,38 “Give the following instructions to the people of Israel: Throughout the generations to come you must make tassels for the hems of your clothing and attach them with a blue cord.39 When you see the tassels, you will remember and obey all the commands of the Lord instead of following your own desires and defiling yourselves, as you are prone to do.40 The tassels will help you remember that you must obey all my commands and be holy to your God.41 I am the Lord your God who brought you out of the land of Egypt that I might be your God. I am the Lord your God!”

It reminded me of the woman in Luke 8 that had a disease and bled all the time.  Jesus was passing by in a crowd and she reached out and touched the tassels on his robe and received healing.  Tassels are so symbolic!  I love this passage because it is so raw and hard-core.  I mean it really comes down to this:  What do you have in your life that is a reminder to obey God and follow him daily?

I know friends that wear rope sandals (I have my own pair) kinda like Jesus sandals, others have scriptures written on paper and attach to their bathroom mirrors, others write a scripture and put in their pocket, and I actually have index cards with scriptures hanging in my car.  One of my friends battles temptation so badly and deals with addictions that he took it a step further and got tats on each forearm reminding him to obey God’s commands.  What do you do each day that reminds you to follow God?  Is it a symbol or scripture verse?  What “tassels” do you have in your life?  We all need them…..

One response to Tassels of Remembrance

  1. 

    Year ago I purchased a real, full sized crown of thorns. I have it hanging on the wall. Good post. Blessings!

    Eden

    Thorns and Myrtles
    http://edenellis.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

