Living What We Preach

May 30, 2010 — Leave a comment

S – Titus 1:8 Rather, he must enjoy having guests in his home, and he must love what is good. He must live wisely and be just. He must live a devout and disciplined life.

O – Paul mentors and pours everything he has into young men like Timothy and Titus. This book expresses to us as leaders and shepherds our responsibilities. I read the qualifications and feel so humbled at his call, but challenged by the standard.

A – I fall short so much, but strive to continue to break free of my selfishness. At times in past I’ve lost love for others and want to crawl into a cave and have no one in my home. Perhaps because of hurt left by investments. Perhaps not wanting to grow attached just to see the relationship broken. These verses continue to challenge me to seek out virtues that even Peter mentions in 2 Peter 1. I need more discipline and wisdom.

S – 2:7 And you yourself must be an example to them by doing good works of every kind. Let everything you do reflect the integrity and seriousness of your teaching.8 Teach the truth so that your teaching can’t be criticized. Then those who oppose us will be ashamed and have nothing bad to say about us.

O – Paul states one of the most timely scriptures to my generation today. People have long grown tired of words but want to see actions. Yesterday I saw a church sign staked in someone’s yard that had their church name with the words below, “GOD IS LOVE”.. I wonder what their neighbors feel about it. When they see this they replace God’s name with the person’s name and ask if it is true? If it isn’t God becomes yet even more distant in their perceptions and the person becomes a hypocrite. What if they took down the sign and just acted love out? I believe this is what Paul is getting at. I needed this one!

A – I’ve moved into a new neighborhood recently and have briefly met some of my neighbors. My heart leaps (not for what he has on the walls but an opportunity to show him something better through a relationship with Christ)  at one of the guys a few houses down that has posters of half-nude women in the garage. My heart aches at the longing in his heart that is a deeper issue. I want to have the passion and love to initiate love without judgement but compassion.

P – Father this morning, we are about to meet at the theater for Servolution. I long to not just show up as a Pastor or Christ-follower and do the religious thing, make a statement for our church that we serve, but draw attention to you and let it be who we really are long after this morning. Let today inspire us all to greatness that comes with doing the unseen with humility. I pray that we would not seek a crown but give you glory.  Amen

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

