Gospel Journey Pt 3 “A Green Life”

January 7, 2011 — Leave a comment

S – Matt 3:7 When John realized that a lot of Pharisees and Sadducees were showing up for a baptismal experience because it was becoming the popular thing to do, he exploded: “Brood of snakes! What do you think you’re doing slithering down here to the river? Do you think a little water on your snake skins is going to make any difference? 8 It’s your life that must change, not your skin! 10 What counts is your life. Is it green and blossoming? Because if it’s deadwood, it goes on the fire.

John 3:17 God didn’t go to all the trouble of sending his Son merely to point an accusing finger, telling the world how bad it was. He came to help, to put the world right again.18 Anyone who trusts in him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. And why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to him.19 “This is the crisis we’re in: God-light streamed into the world, but men and women everywhere ran for the darkness. They went for the darkness because they were not really interested in pleasing God. 20 Everyone who makes a practice of doing evil, addicted to denial and illusion, hates God-light and won’t come near it, fearing a painful exposure. 21 But anyone working and living in truth and reality welcomes God-light so the work can be seen for the God-work it is.”

O – As I read the life-breathing passages this morning I find myself starving to have the simple tenacity of John.  He was so blunt and could care less what people thought about him.  He shot at the religious so quickly knowing they were more about outward appearances.  I’d love to use that phrase sometime, “Hey you brood of snakes!”.  My favorite thing mentioned this morning is what John states “What counts is your life.  Is it green and blossoming?”

A – Boom!  I in my face.  Time to let the scripture read me.  Thanks John for the accountability and the in your face moment.  Am I a religious Pharisee that is about outward appearance?  Do I blog or face book scriptures I read or come across as super spiritual?  Why am I doing those things?  Am I really that kind of guy?  Is my life green enriched with the fruits of the spirit?  Is my life blossoming?  Tough questions.  I wish I could always answer yes.  I still have seeds of selfishness, pride, ego, jealousy, anger, lust, and imperfections.  Today I choose to take one more step to submitting my heart to Jesus and make attempt to focus on living a green life…… and more than just keeping the environment clean, but my spirit clean.

P – “Father God, forgive me of greenlessness if that’s a word.  I long to blossom!  Protect my heart of the disease of the enemy that would try to hold me back!  I want to live life to the fullest.  Shape me.  Mold me.  Help me to get back a pure love for others and a passion for the souls of man.  Use me.  Equip me.  I pray for humbleness and brokenness, but yet boldness and confidence.  May your Holy Spirit drench me with the fires of heaven!  I feel it coming.  Thank you.  Amen”

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

