Strength and Courage

April 16, 2012 — 1 Comment

Often times I’m overwhelmed.  Are you?  I wish I could say that I’m always “Gung Ho” for the start of a new week, but…. it’s simply not true.  This morning the looming to do’s, giants to slain, people to talk with, and projects to work on did overwhelm me….. at least until I was inspired by an ancient friend named Joshua.

You see in chapter one of the book in which he’s named, it says this:

1-9 After the death of Moses the servant of God, God spoke to Joshua, Moses’ assistant:

“Moses my servant is dead. Get going. Cross this Jordan River, you and all the people. Cross to the country I’m giving to the People of Israel. I’m giving you every square inch of the land you set your foot on—just as I promised Moses.  It’s all yours. All your life, no one will be able to hold out against you. In the same way I was with Moses, I’ll be with you. I won’t give up on you; I won’t leave you. STRENGTH! COURAGE!  Give it everything you have, heart and soul. Don’t get off track, either left or right, so as to make sure you get to where you’re going. And don’t for a minute let this Book of The Revelation be out of mind. Ponder and meditate on it day and night, making sure you practice everything written in it. Then you’ll get where you’re going; then you’ll succeed. Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. God, your God, is with you every step you take.”

During this reading journey, I was faced with chapter 11 today.  Immediately I could relate with Joshua who had it far worse than me today.  God truly went before him and he’s just blowing every army away that he fights.  Then all of a sudden, like a posse, herds of kings start uniting against Joshua.  Check this out in verse 4:

“They came out in full force, all their troops massed together – a huge army, in number like sand on an ocean beach – to say nothing of all the horses and chariots.”

I immediately get this image of the movie 300, in which King Leonidas and a force of 300 men are fighting the beach infested army of the Persians.  It just seems impossible doesn’t it?  Why try?  Can you imagine how Joshua must have felt trying to remind himself of everything God told him in chapter 1?

Once again God tells him in 11:6 “Don’t worry about them.  This time tomorrow I’ll hand them over to Israel” and guess what?  In verse 16 “Joshua took the whole country!”

Are you facing any of these:

  • Office desk piled way high
  • Unlimited emails and calls
  • Nutrition plan got shot over the weekend
  • You gained 3 pounds last week
  • You’ve got over 10 hours of physical training and not tons of time
  • Your marriage is barely making it
  • You fill in this one

Have STRENGTH and COURAGE my friend!  God is going before you and he’s going to help you win the fight!  We must let him take away our worry and fear, because the battle belongs to the Lord!  Don’t get off track with your fitness and spiritual goals!  Strength and courage….. strength and courage

One response to Strength and Courage

  1. 

    I have heard over and over this past week as I have wondered why my weight went up and stayed up for so long…all the work I’m doing doesn’t show on the scale. So I asked God why no results…and he said, “seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all these things will be added to you.” I get so caught up in the day with exercise and eating, monitoring, and posting my meals on LoseIt. I had to kind of throw myself into this diet/lifestyle to get a jump start. Now God’s saying, it’s time to get a clear perspective…me first, the rest will fall into place. And Lisa, the loss will come! And as soon as I heard it, I knew it was true, and the scale began to reflect it a little bit. And soon it will be a little bit more. God first! Above all things, even getting healthy, God first!

Leave a Reply

