5 Keys to Post-Surgery Recovery

August 27, 2013 — Leave a comment

Untitled

A little over two weeks ago I went over my handlebars on my mountain bike…. that I had…. for….. a day!  Rewind a month previously.

I’d been hunting for a Yeti and landed an incredible deal on Craigslist.  I dropped weight to get down to my ideal race weight, just signed up for a Cross Fit class and attended one session, and landed the bike to give me an opportunity to build relationships with some neighbor guys and do a little cross-training.  All that to say my fall season was prime & ready to tackle some fitness goals.  Then it happened.

I was so focused on my clip pedals and adjusting to a shorter stem, hit some hills to quick, lost focused, pushed on the brakes to hard, and went face first into the rocky trail.  Long story short – separated my AC joint in my shoulder and required surgery a few days later.  Why am I sharing this?  Life happens, injuries happen, and you can let it get you down or you can bounce back.  Many people get depressed when an injury happens but instead of focusing on what you can’t do, how about focusing on what you can do.  It’s been a little over two weeks since surgery and I’m feeling great!  Here’s five keys that I firmly believe have helped cause post-surgery recovery to go so well:

1.  PRAYER – bottom line.  The moment the incident happened my boys prayed over me, then Amy, and then others via social networks.  I’ve laid hands on my shoulder almost daily and asked God for strength and to put me back together again just as he created me.  Nothing trumps prayer when it comes to injury!

2.  TOP-NOTCH ORTHOPEDIST – He told me multiple ways he could perform the surgery but went with his past record of over 95% success rate.  Did I mention right before he took me back to put me under I told him directly, “I believe in the power of prayer doc.  I believe God has already begun the healing process.”  His reply?  “I believe in prayer too and I believe God has given me a gift set to help you, let me pray for you now!”

3.  SUPPORTIVE WIFE – For the past couple of weeks Amy has waited on me for every beckoning selfish little need, all the while prepping our boys for first day of school and still taking care of baby squish at 9 months old.  Can you believe she set her own alarm to wake me up in the middle of the night to give me my pain medicine?  She did this full well-knowing that Ainsley could wake up anytime.  Praise God for my partner!

4.  SLING IN PUBLIC – I was told I need to wear my sling for six weeks.  I wore it faithfully for the first week and a half, but now only wear it going out in public so my buddies don’t give me a bear hug and make me whimper.  I believe it has helped take the pressure off, stabilize, and bring rest to my shoulder.  However, I have found that now since I’m letting my arm hang it is causing me to use it for tedious tasks and forcing me to move it causing strength to come back and recovery to speed.  If it was in a sling most of the time I wouldn’t use it, therefore not gaining strength.

5.  POSITIVE ATTITUDE – I got all negativity out the moment it happened.  I remember thinking “Dang this sucks!!”.  I was ticked from all the progress I had been making and plans for the fall.  Then I left it on the trail and got up determined.  I set up a bike trainer in the garage and am spinning, push baby squish around the block for 30 minutes, and have begun core work again.  I’m limiting pain med to once a day now.

I’ll be real I have a few moments when the enemy wants to drag me down and remind me about the setback.  It stinks not to be able to sleep on my side.  It’s not fun to go to the bathroom and be left-handed!  Just keeping it real.

You know what though?  I’m thankful.  I’m thankful that something worse didn’t happen.  I’m thankful this is only temporary.  I’m thankful God is going to use this to allow me to coach others through injury.  I’m thankful for God’s hand on my life.  I’m thankful that this blog post is going to encourage others.  I’m thankful for all of you that have said a prayer for me.  Let’s do this!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

