Turning 35

November 22, 2013 — 1 Comment

wait_bench_ocean                                                                                               Picture from: Earnestly Contending

I’m 35…. What does this mean? More silvers in my beard to say the least!   I recently read my post called – Turning 30. I’m at a similar place in which God is calling me to step out of the boat, risk big, and trust Him completely.  When I was 30 I was consumed with hesitation and fear at my inadequacies of not being able to do it and it reflected.  Now comes a new perspective….. more maturity……. few more steps down the path of life experience breeding doses of wisdom.  I’m more consumed with the weight of the responsibility knowing I can’t do it, but with God I can and that’s a big difference.

I sit pondering, wrestling, thinking about what if? What could be? What if all the things truly are possible with God? (Mark 10:27) I’m in a state of “too much is given much is required.” I’m thankful, blessed, feel His favor, overwhelmed by His Grace, humbled that he’s apointed and anointed me for such a time as this. Every man begs the answers to “Who am I? What am I suppose to do with my life?”

I struggled with these questions in my 20’s. Half-way into my 30’s I’m starting to get a glimpse of the answers. I realize the answer to the first one is far more important the second. When you get the answer to that one, the second one will follow suite.

Who am I? I’m my Father’s son and He’s pleased with me. I’m a follower of Christ hoping that my actions not my words speaks this truth. I’m a husband of nearly 12 years desperately pursuing and attempting to rescue my wife every day. Most days I mess this up not being her hero, but being her monster that tries to control and fix her. It’s a process-in-the-making but she’s patient and that makes me love her even more.

I’m a Daddy of three little angels sent from heaven I feel so inadequate to model in front of or show them the way so they wouldn’t depart. Most days I don’t get this right either, but as long as I admit my mistakes even my children seem to give me unconditional grace. They look like Jesus to me.

I’m at a crucial crossroads right now. Will I trust my Father? I have no doubt he’s leading me down a unblazed trail. I’m excited. I anticipate because I hold to the promise He gave me two and a half years ago “Ricky, I will do ten times more in and through you then your previous ten years combined.” I believe in something my brother John texted me yesterday “What you care about determines what you can be trusted with.” I care a lot about helping triathletes create balance and margin and seeing that what they are really pursuing is the unknown God.  I care a lot about helping people transform their lives from the inside-out by reclaiming their physical health.  I know I have what it takes to do both.  It’s a God-confidence.

I “realize I’m in a place of holy mystery, that God is at work amongst me” Luke 7:16. My plan is to “be strong and immovable. To work enthusiastically for God, nothing you do for Him is useless.” 1 Corinthians 15:58. I understand that “if I am filled with light, then my whole life will be radiant.” Luke 11:27

Now it’s time to accept my birthday gift from Amy.  Opening day of ski season let’s do this!

One response to Turning 35

  1. 

    Ricky, Thanks for reminding me that maturity and discovery are both processes! Your enthusiasm for your God dream is inspiring. Enjoy the first day of ski season! 😀

Leave a Reply

