4 Reasons Why I’m Doing Another Ironman

March 10, 2014 — 2 Comments

995682_10152907414475551_127880294_nIronman.  It is an intimidating name.  It brings up some many emotions and feelings within.  Yet I’m doing another one.  Endurance sports can bring tons of selfishness because it involves so much time training.  I struggled with this in 2011 and for three months didn’t do any of it so I could do it for the right reasons.  I had already done one in 2008 and didn’t want to do another one for me.

I learned in that season that all that time spent training was a gift to keep my body healthy, time with my kids being an example, time to worship God, and time with others that need him desperately.

Why Do Another Ironman?  

1.  For others.  I want to be example of health & fitness to all those I coach.  I want to inspire others to do something they never thought they could do.  I want to model to my kids that all things are possible and you can push yourself beyond your limits to achieve a goal.

2.  I need a carrot dangling in front of me so that I stay motivated to exercise.

3.  I am fulfilling my calling to train alongside 40 others within Fast Forward Sports as a chaplain.  I want to represent Christ by being a light and salt around others that need Him.  I’m looking to truly flesh this out at the beginning of April.

4.  I’m a firm believer that sport can bring glory to God.  I love guys like Ryan Hall that exhibit this.  In the movie Chariots of Fire Eric Liddell says, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast.  And when I run I feel His pleasure.”  I love that.  For as long as my body will let me I will swim, bike, and run for His glory to that others can bump into him by me incarnating him in the flesh.  I tri so that others might try Jesus.

What is an Ironman?

An Ironman is a 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike ride, and a 26.2 mile run.  People do them for all kinds of reasons just watch the annual televised championship from Kona on NBC every year.  I love that all different ages, genders, walks of life, people with handicaps, and professionals race alongside each other.  No one cares what career they hold, what you look like, how much money you make on race day.  Everyone has the same goal.  Cross the line.  The Ironman finish line truly has the ability to change your life.  It is the closest feeling imaginable I have ever felt to what crossing the eternal finish line in heaven might be like.  The crowd of witnesses streaming both sides cheering me on.

Depending on your fitness level you will spend anywhere from 9-17 hours enduring pain, discomfort, emotional roller-coasters, and everything fights against you to keep going.  It’s all about one stroke after the other, one pedal stroke, and one stride.  It’s the ultimate metaphor of life.

Are you thinking about getting into triathlon?  Perhaps the Ironman distance. If I can help you in any way shoot me a message at rickyv@ironone.net

2 responses to 4 Reasons Why I’m Doing Another Ironman

  1. 
    marcus437mavalos March 13, 2014 at 12:27 PM

    do it brother.thanks coach for leading the way

  2. 

    Terrific post however I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit
    further. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

